Barking at the moon – all time favourite dog biscuits

Since Lilly and I are living together things are not how they used to be before. My best friends are eager to meet me – if I bring the dog. Men turn their heads on the street – to cherish Lilly’s beautiful little face. People I hardly know come by and bring little presents – for Lilly of course. So it didn’t take me wonder that people are emailing me after seeing my foodblog for the first time, telling me that the most wonderful thing about it are the pictures of my dog sitting in front of a truffle soup. So you know what, I give in, I let her do the blog. In the meantime I’ll coil up in her dog bed, take a nap and probably later on I’ll chew on a bone. But before just let me make one point very clear: if Lilly is doing the blog, I admit that you’ll probably see more cute puppy-pictures, BUT the recipes she’ll post will probably be more to her taste than to yours. Hah, you didn’t really think about that while writing those e-mails, am I right? Well, it’s too late now to regret, here are Lilly’s favourite dog biscuit recipes. She found them in Bubba Roses “Organic dog biscuit cookbook” but changed them to her own taste.

Lilly’s carob chip cookies:

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup unsalted and unsweetened peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugarfree carob chips (do NOT substitute with chocolate for chocolate is very unhealthy for dogs)

Lilly’s parmesan cookies:

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup water

For both cookie recipes preheat the oven to 350° (in Germany to 160°). Combine all dough ingredients together and mix until a dough forms. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and place teaspoon sized portions of the cookie dough on it. Press flat with a spoon. The cookies can be rather close together as they don’t grow much while cooking. Bake 20-25 minutes. Transfer and let cool completely on a wire rack. Store the carob chip cookies in a losely covered container at room temperature, the parmesan cookies should be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Comments
2 Responses to “Barking at the moon – all time favourite dog biscuits”
  1. Fay says:

    I love the Lilly pictures too. I’ll try the cookies with our 3 dogs Kini, Lupi (you know them) and Nya. They’re all cookie monsters.

    • Dear Fay,

      oh, I hope the three will love the cookies as much as Lilly does! Lilly is a HUGE cookie monster. I tried the carob chip cookie recipe with quinoa flour instead of rice and oat flour and that works really well too and it’s pretty healthy anyways.

      Love to you, Guenther, Kini, Lupi and Nya!

Leave a Reply

  • Sign up here

