Passionate Baking: Millet-Chocolate-Shortbread (vegan)

Lately I’m not so much into cooking, but baking is the big thing for me. I don’t need a psychiatrist to tell me where my passion for baking comes from. I remember the moment very vividly. For all my life I loved cakes, tarts, cookies and all kinds of flour- and sugar based food. The moment in question came when I decided to do an allergy test because I had some health issues. The result changed my snacking habits for good: sugar and wheat intolerance. I scoured upscale health-food markets for snacks that met my finicky taste but didn’t find much that I liked. So I began baking my own snacks. I tried all kinds of flours. Spelt, rice, oat, bean, corn, potato, rye and millet flour with varying results. My friend and amazing chef Roberto knows how hard I tried after meeting me for dinner on the day I had to go to see the dentist because I lost my filling after trying (and eating) a bean based pizza dough. I totally cracked him up with my story and my way of slurping my soup in a less than elegant way (my mouth was still numb after my little dental surgery). In comparison with this episode my baking experiments with all kinds of sweeteners were harmless. I used agave nectar, maple sirup and coconut sugar and they all worked very well. The common goal of all my attempts was this: to bake a cookie, cake or tart that just tastes wonderful and absolutely delicious and that would never be mere substitute for “the real thing”.

This week my appetite for a good cookie was huge as ever, so I tried the following recipe that uses millet flour (Hirse), oats, coconut oil and maple syrup as a base.

Ingredients (makes 1 baking sheet of cookies):

  • 1 cup millet flour (Hirsemehl)
  • 1 cup old fashioned (rolled) oats
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup light maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/3 cup semisweet, organic chocolate, chopped (see if you can find a chocolate that uses raw cane sugar instead of refined sugar)
Preheat the oven to 350 degree F° (180 °C). In a large bowl, stir the millet flour, oats, and salt together. In another bowl combine the maple syrup, coconut oil and vanilla and add to the dry ingredients. Add the chopped chocolate.
Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and use a spatula to evenly disperse the dough. Bake for 15-20 minutes on the middle rack until golden brown. Let it cool for 15–20 minutes, then cut into pieces.
Comments
2 Responses to “Passionate Baking: Millet-Chocolate-Shortbread (vegan)”
  1. Blanche says:

    A wonderful strategy for better eating.

  2. Birgit Kröger says:

    Liebe Stefanie
    wie bezaubernd dein wunderbarer blog.
    Danke dafür!
    freue mich auf mehr.
    Birgit

Leave a Reply

  • Sign up here

