Happy food for the new year

A happy new year to all of you, my dear friends and fellow foodlovers! How was your year 2011? What did you love, what did you learn, what did you eat? My year 2011 was full of movement and excitement. I stayed in a foreign country with lots and lots of sunshine. I studied yoga which I loved. I met wonderful new friends. I started this foodblog (well, a little bit earlier). In fact it was a year full of light, ease and joy. Life made it easy for me to feel good almost every day and I am very grateful for that. At the same time I realize that it is easy to feel good when things go smooth, the sun is shining and people are nice. No big deal. Today, standing in the mud of rural France with my robber boots on, looking in the rainy sky after 5 weeks of water pouring down of clouds in all shapes of gray lets me realize that there is more to learn about feeling good than waiting for the sun to come out and make me happy again. Rain can be a teacher. Rain for more than two weeks can make me forget about love and light and joy altogether. It can put me down until at some point I don’t want to take it anymore and rebel against … what? Probably against myself allowing my energy to get as dim as the winter’s daylight. That’s the moment when I choose to search for happiness; I choose to focus on things that bring me joy like talking to someone I love, cooking good food, doing yoga, going for a walk, searching for things that make me smile. That’s how I found these pictures again that Thomas and I took for a kids magazine one day. Those little banana-chocolate people, standing in the desert with their umbrella made me smile and turned on the light within myself. I hope they’ll do the same for you. Much love and lots of inner light to all of you for this exciting new year to come!

Chocolate-banana people in the desert (makes 4 little guys):

  • 2 bananas
  • 4 Physalis (replace with any other fruit/berry that makes a good head)
  • 1 cup dark chocolate covering (organic)
  • 5 toothpicks
  • 2-4 paper umbrellas (optional)

Chop the dark chocolate covering, place it in the top of a double boiler, set over simmering water, and let it melt. Make sure that no water comes in contact with the melting chocolate. Just a drop or two of water can make the chocolate seize up, or become hard and lumpy. Peel the banana and cut it in halves. Dip into the melted chocolate until completely covered except for the cut end. Put them on a greased plate and let cool in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes (the chocolate covering should be firm and dry by then). Place the chocolate covered bananas cut end down. Use a toothpick to attach the Physalis as a head. With another toothpick dip into the melted chocolate and draw eyes and mouth onto the Physalis. Attach the paper umbrellas. And now: go play with your food!

Macadamia-chocolate-pearls:

  • 1 cup macadamia nuts
  • 1 cup white chocolate covering (organic)
  • 2 tablespoons shredded coconut
  • for decoration: one or more big sea shells (you may ask at the seafood store for the shells of scallops)

Chop and melt the chocolate covering as advised in the recipe before. Place each macadamia nut onto a fork and dip into the melted chocolate. Roll one half of the nuts in shredded coconut. Place on a greased plate and let cool until firm and dry. Serve the pearls in sea shells.

Walker with dog (makes one pair):

  • 1 banana
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon shredded coconut
  • 1 Physalis (replace with any other fruit/berry that makes a good head)
  • 8 toothpicks
  • 1 jelly string
Peel the banana and cut into halves. Cut another little piece of the rounded end of one of the halves – this will be the dog’s head. Rub the banana first with lemon juice, then with honey. Roll in shredded coconut. Use the toothpicks to attach the banana pieces to each other and to design the dog’s feet (break two toothpicks in half for that) and the walkers arms. Attach the Physalis as the walker’s head. The jelly string will be the dog’s leash.

Helicopter with sweet load (makes 4):

  • 1/2 cup greek yoghurt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • pieces of fruit (e .g. pineapple) or berries (raspberries. strawberries, blueberries)
  • 8 ice cream wafers
  • 4 jelly strings
  • 4 asian spoons

Place two ice cream wafers diagonally over each other on top of each spoon’s handle and fix with a jelly string. Mix joghurt and honey and put one tablespoon on each asian spoon. Place pieces of fruit and berries on top. Open your mouth wide and fly high!

Leave a Reply

  • Sign up here

